Modify your enterprise's information > Amend Constituting Documents > Amalgamation of Business Corporations

Amalgamation of Business Corporations

An amalgamation is the process whereby two or more business corporations or legal persons merge into a single entity.

Québec business corporations that wish to amalgamate must file articles of amalgamation.

Most other legal persons must declare their amalgamation, either at the time they register in the enterprise register or at the time they file their annual or current updating declaration.

Note
Non-profit legal persons that wish to amalgamate must file form RE-804, Requête de lettres patentes de fusion (see English courtesy translation RE-804-T).

Articles of amalgamation of business corporations

The Business Corporations Act (BCA) provides for two types of amalgamation: long-form and short-form amalgamation.

To amalgamate enterprises into a Québec business corporation and update the information in the enterprise register, the Registraire des entreprises offers three online services. These services are available under Gestion de l'entreprise in My Office. They are:

  • Produire des statuts de fusion ordinaire avec l'avis établissant l'adresse du siège et la liste des administrateurs
  • Produire des statuts de fusion ordinaire avec la déclaration initiale
  • Produire des statuts de fusion simplifiée

Long-form amalgamation

Long-form amalgamation enables a group of business corporations governed by the BCA to amalgamate to form a single business corporation governed by that Act. A new Québec enterprise number (NEQ) is assigned to the new business corporation formed through this type of amalgamation.

The articles of long-form amalgamation must be accompanied by either the Avis établissant l’adresse du siège et la liste des administrateurs or the initial declaration provided for by the Act respecting the legal publicity of enterprises. The "avis" or the declaration must be sent to the Registraire des entreprises on the same day as the articles.

Short-form amalgamation

Short-form amalgamation enables the amalgamation of business corporations that, given the control exercised by one of them over the others, unite to form a new business corporation governed by the BCA. The parent company or the corporation whose shares will not all be cancelled will retain its Québec enterprise number (NEQ).

Name of the business corporation

You may keep the name of one of the amalgamating business corporations. In the case of a long-form amalgamation, you may choose to propose a new name or request a designating number in lieu of a name.

If you propose a new name, you must make sure that the name you have chosen is compliant with laws and regulations. For more information, see Definition and Rules Applicable to the Name of an Enterprise.

You must also verify whether the name you have chosen is not already used by another enterprise in Québec. Before you file your articles, you may use the Find an Enterprise online service (free of charge).

If you believe that the name you have chosen is compliant with laws and regulations and that the name is not used by another enterprise in Québec, you can use the Produire une demande de réservation de nom online service to file a name reservation application with the Registraire des entreprises. Fees are applicable to all name reservation applications. The name is reserved for 90 days. Name reservation is optional.

Fees and terms of payment

The fees applicable to a certificate of amalgamation, further to an application for articles of amalgamation for a business corporation, are given in chart RE-101, Tarifs et modalités de paiement (see English courtesy translation RE-101-T).

Processing your application

After receiving an application for articles of amalgamation, the Registraire des entreprises records the date of receipt, reviews the articles of amalgamation and analyses, where applicable, whether the name is compliant. If the application is compliant and complete, and the fees have been paid, the Registraire des entreprises issues a certificate of amalgamation and assigns a date to it. The certificate attests that the business corporations have amalgamated. The date assigned to the certificate will correspond to the date on which the Registraire received the articles of amalgamation or the date indicated in the section “Date et heure à attribuer au certificat”.

  • For a long-form amalgamation, the Registraire cancels the registration of the amalgamating corporations, registers the business corporation resulting from the amalgamation and assigns it a NEQ. Then, the articles of amalgamation, the accompanying documents and the certificate of amalgamation are deposited in the enterprise register under this NEQ.
  • For a short-form amalgamation, the Registraire des entreprises cancels the registration of the amalgamating business corporation(s) whose shares will be cancelled and deposits in the enterprise register the articles of amalgamation and the certificate of amalgamation under the NEQ of the business corporation resulting from the amalgamation.

The Registraire des entreprises also sends a copy of the articles and the certificate to the business corporation resulting from the amalgamation or its representative. The parties concerned are responsible for verifying the legality and accuracy of the articles and other documents sent to the Registraire des entreprises. They must also verify the amalgamating corporations’ information shown in the enterprise register on the website of the Registraire des entreprises.

Legal obligations of the business corporation

If you have chosen to file articles of long-form amalgamation with the Avis établissant l’adresse du siège et la liste des administrateurs, you must file the initial declaration provided for in the Act respecting the legal publicity of enterprises within 60 days after the date of registration in the enterprise register. The enterprise is liable to penal and administrative sanctions if it does not file the initial declaration.

If you have chosen to file articles of short-form amalgamation and the amalgamation changed the information declared in the enterprise register for the amalgamating corporation whose NEQ was kept, you must update this information by filing a current updating declaration within 30 days after the date assigned to the certificate of amalgamation. 

Client services

Client services of the Registraire des enterprises are provided by Services Québec at its offices in Montréal or Québec, as well as by email or telephone. Contact information is provided on the Contact Us page.

Client services staff can help you understand the amalgamation process and the application of the rules of law in general. However, they cannot interpret these rules to adapt them to a specific case or respond to a specific situation. For such help, consult a legal adviser.

Last Update : 
Top of the page Top of the page

Fusion de sociétés par actions

On désigne par fusion l'opération par laquelle deux ou plusieurs sociétés ou personnes morales se réunissent pour ne former qu'une seule entité.

Les sociétés par actions québécoises qui désirent fusionner doivent produire des statuts de fusion.

La plupart des autres personnes morales doivent déclarer leur fusion soit au moment où elles s'immatriculent au registre des entreprises ou lors de la production de leur mise à jour annuelle ou courante.

Note
Dans le cas des personnes morales sans but lucratif qui désirent fusionner, le formulaire Requête de lettres patentes de fusion (RE-804) doit être rempli.

Produire des statuts de fusion de sociétés par actions

La Loi sur les sociétés par actions (LSA) prévoit deux types de fusion, soit la fusion ordinaire et la fusion simplifiée.

En ce qui concerne la fusion d’entreprises en une société par actions québécoise, le Registraire met à votre disposition trois services permettant la mise à jour des informations contenues au registre. Ces services, qui sont accessibles dans Mon bureau sous Gestion de l’entreprise, sont les suivants :

  • Produire des statuts de fusion ordinaire avec l'avis établissant l'adresse du siège et la liste des administrateurs
  • Produire des statuts de fusion ordinaire avec la déclaration initiale
  • Produire des statuts de fusion simplifiée

Fusion ordinaire

La fusion ordinaire permet à un regroupement de plusieurs sociétés par actions, régies par la LSA, de fusionner dans le but de former une seule et même société par actions régie par cette loi. Lors de ce type de fusion, un nouveau numéro d'entreprise du Québec (NEQ) est attribué à la nouvelle société par actions.

Les statuts de fusion ordinaire doivent être accompagnés d'un avis établissant l'adresse du siège et la liste des administrateurs ou de la déclaration initiale prévue par la Loi sur la publicité légale des entreprises. Cet avis ou cette déclaration doit être transmis au Registraire la même journée que les statuts.

Fusion simplifiée

La fusion simplifiée permet de fusionner plusieurs sociétés qui, en raison du contrôle exercé par l'une d'entre elles sur les autres, s'unissent pour former une nouvelle société régie par la LSA. La société mère ou la société dont les actions ne seront pas toutes annulées conservera son NEQ.

Choix du nom de la société par actions

Vous pouvez conserver le nom de l'une des sociétés par actions faisant partie de la fusion. S'il s'agit d'une fusion ordinaire, vous pouvez également proposer un nouveau nom ou demander une désignation numérique qui servira de nom.

Si vous proposez un nouveau nom, vous devez vous assurer que le nom choisi est conforme à la loi et aux règlements. Pour plus d'information concernant la conformité du nom d’une personne morale, consultez la page Définition et règles applicables au nom de l'entreprise.

Vous devez également vérifier que le nom que vous avez choisi n'est pas utilisé par une autre entreprise au Québec. Pour ce faire, vous pouvez, avant de produire votre demande, effectuer gratuitement une recherche du nom choisi au moyen du service en ligne Rechercher une entreprise au registre

Si vous croyez que le nom que vous avez choisi est conforme à la loi et aux règlements et qu'il n'est pas utilisé par une autre entreprise au Québec, vous pouvez demander une réservation de nom auprès du Registraire. Veuillez noter que la réservation de nom est facultative. Vous pouvez l'effectuer au moyen du service en ligne Produire une demande de réservation de nom. Toute demande de réservation de nom entraîne des frais. De plus, notez qu'une réservation est valide pour 90 jours.

Tarifs et modalités de paiement

Pour connaître les frais qui s'appliquent à la délivrance d'un certificat de fusion dans la cadre d'une demande de statuts de fusion de sociétés par actions, consultez la grille Tarifs et modalités de paiement (RE-101).

Traitement de votre demande

Après la réception d'une demande de statuts de fusion, le Registraire enregistre une date de réception, procède à l'examen des statuts de fusion et analyse notamment la conformité du nom, le cas échéant. Si la demande est conforme et complète et que les frais exigibles ont été payés, le Registraire délivre un certificat de fusion et y attribue une date. Le certificat atteste que les sociétés par actions ont fusionné. La date attribuée au certificat correspondra soit à la date de réception des statuts de fusion par le Registraire, soit à celle inscrite à la section Date et heure à attribuer au certificat.

  • Pour une fusion ordinaire, le Registraire procède à la radiation de l'immatriculation des sociétés fusionnantes, immatricule la société issue de la fusion et lui attribue un NEQ. Par la suite, les statuts de fusion, les documents qui y sont joints ainsi que le certificat de fusion sont déposés au registre des entreprises sous ce NEQ.
  • Pour une fusion simplifiée, le Registraire procède à la radiation de l'immatriculation de la ou des sociétés fusionnantes dont les actions seront annulées et dépose au registre des entreprises les statuts de fusion et le certificat de fusion sous le NEQ de la société issue de la fusion.

Le Registraire transmet également un exemplaire des statuts et du certificat à la société issue de la fusion ou à son représentant. Il incombe aux intéressés de vérifier la légalité et l'exactitude du contenu des statuts et des autres documents transmis au Registraire. Ils doivent également vérifier les renseignements concernant les sociétés fusionnantes qui figurent au registre, sur le site du Registraire.

Obligations légales de la société par actions

Si vous avez choisi de produire des statuts de fusion ordinaire avec l'avis établissant l'adresse du siège et la liste des administrateurs, vous devrez produire la déclaration initiale prévue par la Loi sur la publicité légale des entreprises dans les 60 jours suivant la date de l'immatriculation au registre. L’entreprise s’expose à des sanctions administratives et pénales si elle ne produit pas la déclaration initiale requise.

Si vous avez choisi de produire des statuts de fusion simplifiée et que la fusion a entraîné des changements aux renseignements déclarés au registre pour la société fusionnante dont le NEQ a été conservé, vous devrez mettre à jour ces renseignements en produisant une déclaration de mise à jour courante dans les 30 jours suivant la date attribuée au certificat de fusion.

Service à la clientèle

Services Québec fournit une assistance à la clientèle du Registraire des entreprises, en personne à l'un de ses comptoirs de Montréal ou de Québec, ainsi que par courriel et par téléphone. Vous trouverez les coordonnées du service à la clientèle à la page Nous joindre.

Le personnel du service à la clientèle peut vous aider notamment à mieux comprendre la procédure de fusion d'entreprises ainsi que les règles d'application générale de la loi. Toutefois, il ne peut pas interpréter ces règles pour les adapter à un cas précis ou pour répondre à une situation particulière. Si vous avez besoin d'aide à ce sujet, nous vous invitons à consulter un conseiller juridique.

Dernière mise à jour : 
Haut de page Haut de page