Modify your enterprise's information > Amend Constituting Documents > Application for the Correction of Articles

Application for the Correction of Articles

Who can file an application for the correction of articles?

All business corporations governed by the Business Corporations Act (BSA) that wish to correct an obvious error in their articles must request a correction of articles. Such errors may relate to references, data input, transcription or mistakes of a similar nature.

This application must be submitted to the Registraire des entreprises by the board of directors or the representative of the business corporation following the issuing of the certificate pertaining to the articles containing the error. The forms must be used.

Application for correction filed by a representative 

Form RE-511, Demande de correction de statuts présentée par le représentant de la société (see English courtesy translation RE-511-T) must be completed by the representative of a business corporation that is requesting the correction of an obvious error in the corporation's articles. The application must be filed with the Registraire des entreprises within 60 days after the certificate for the articles containing the error is issued. The correction is retroactive to the date and time, where applicable, shown on the certificate accompanying the articles to be corrected.

Application for correction filed by the board of directors 

Form RE-510, Demande de correction de statuts présentée par le conseil d’administration (see English courtesy translation RE-510-T) must be completed by the board of directors of a business corporation that is requesting the correction of an obvious error in the corporation's articles. The application must be signed by a director or officer named by the board of directors. The correction is retroactive to the date and time, where applicable, shown on the certificate accompanying the articles to be corrected.

Documents to be submitted

You must enclose with the application for the correction of articles filed by the board of directors:

  • the corrected articles, including schedules;
  • the certificate containing an error, where applicable.

You must also enclose one or more of the following documents with your application, depending on your situation:

  • the Déclaration relative à une demande de correction présentée par le conseil d’administration, which is a part of form RE-510, if the corrections will not be prejudicial to the rights of shareholders or creditors;
  • a certified copy of the unanimous resolution of the shareholders if the corrections could be prejudicial to their rights and the shareholders have authorized the corrections;
  • a copy of the judgment authorizing the correction of the articles if the corrections could be prejudicial to the rights of shareholders and the shareholders have not authorized them by a unanimous resolution, or if the corrections could be prejudicial to the rights of creditors.
Important
The above-mentioned forms must always be used to file a correction of articles. These forms must be accompanied by the corrected articles.

Fees and terms of payment

The fees applicable to an application for correction of articles are given in chart RE-101, Tarifs et modalités de paiement (see English courtesy translation RE-101-T).

Processing your application

After receiving the application for correction and the other prescribed documents, the Registraire des entreprises records the date of receipt and reviews the application. If the application is compliant and complete, and the fees have been paid, the Registraire des entreprises will replace the articles in the enterprise register with the corrected articles. A new certificate will be issued only if the correction requires that the text on the previous certificate be amended. In this case, a copy of the corrected articles and of the certificate will be sent to the corporation or its representative. The correction is retroactive to the date and time, where applicable, shown on the certificate accompanying the articles to be corrected.

Important
The correction of articles could infringe the rights of the creditors or shareholders. If such is the case, a copy of the judgment authorizing the correction or a copy of the shareholders resolution must be appended to the application to correct articles.

Client services

Client services of the Registraire des entreprises are provided by Services Québec at its offices in Montréal and Québec, as well as by email or telephone. Contact information is provided on the Contact Us page.

Client services staff can help you understand the process to correct articles and the application of the rules of law in general. However, they cannot interpret these rules to adapt them to a specific case or respond to a specific situation. For such help, consult a legal adviser.

Last Update : 
Top of the page Top of the page

Demande de correction de statuts

Qui peut produire une demande de correction de statuts?

Toute société régie par la Loi sur les sociétés par actions (LSA) qui désire corriger une erreur manifeste dans ses statuts doit demander une correction de statuts. Il peut s’agir d’une erreur de référence, de saisie, de transcription ou de semblable nature.

Cette demande doit être présentée au Registraire des entreprises par le conseil d’administration ou le représentant de la société à la suite de la délivrance du certificat qui se rapporte aux statuts comportant l’erreur. Pour ce faire, l’utilisation des formulaires papier est requise.

Demande de correction par le représentant 

La Demande de correction de statuts présentée par le représentant de la société (RE-511) s’adresse à tout représentant d’une société par actions qui demande la correction d’une erreur manifeste contenue dans les statuts de la société. La demande doit être présentée au Registraire des entreprises dans les 60 jours suivant la délivrance du certificat qui se rapporte aux statuts comportant l’erreur. La correction rétroagit à la date et à l’heure, s’il y a lieu, figurant sur le certificat qui accompagne les statuts à corriger.

Demande de correction par le conseil d’administration 

La Demande de correction de statuts présentée par le conseil d’administration (RE-510) s’adresse à tout conseil d’administration d’une société par actions qui demande la correction d’une erreur manifeste contenue dans les statuts de la société par actions. La demande de correction doit être signée par un administrateur ou un dirigeant nommé par le conseil d’administration. La correction rétroagit à la date et à l’heure, s’il y a lieu, figurant sur le certificat qui accompagne les statuts à corriger.

Documents à fournir

Vous devez joindre les documents suivants à la demande de correction de statuts présentée par le conseil d’administration :

  • les statuts corrigés, y compris les annexes;
  • le certificat comportant une erreur, s’il y a lieu.

Vous devez également joindre à la demande un ou plusieurs des documents suivants, selon votre situation :

  • la « Déclaration relative à une demande de correction présentée par le conseil d’administration », que vous trouverez à la fin du formulaire RE-510, lorsque les corrections ne risquent pas de porter atteinte aux droits des actionnaires ou des créanciers;
  • une copie certifiée de la résolution unanime des actionnaires lorsque les corrections risquent de porter atteinte à leurs droits et que les actionnaires les ont autorisées;
  • une copie du jugement autorisant la correction des statuts lorsque les corrections risquent de porter atteinte soit aux droits des actionnaires (si ces ces derniers ne les ont pas autorisées par résolution unanime), soit aux droits des créanciers.
Important
Une demande de correction de statuts doit toujours être produite à l’aide des formulaires papier mentionnés ci-dessus. Ces formulaires doivent être accompagnés des statuts corrigés.

Tarifs et modalités de paiement

Pour connaître les frais qui s’appliquent à une demande de correction de statuts, consultez la grille Tarifs et modalités de paiement (RE-101). 

Traitement de votre demande

Après la réception de la demande de correction et des autres documents exigés par la loi, le Registraire des entreprises enregistre la date de réception et procède à l’examen de la demande. Si la demande est conforme et complète et que les droits ont été payés, le Registraire remplacera les statuts déposés au registre des entreprises par les statuts corrigés. Un nouveau certificat sera délivré seulement si la correction nécessite une modification au texte du certificat qui a déjà été délivré. Dans ce cas, une copie des statuts corrigés et du certificat sera transmise à la société ou à son représentant. La correction rétroagit à la date et à l’heure, s’il y a lieu, figurant sur le certificat qui accompagne les statuts que l’on corrige.

Important
La correction de statuts pourrait porter atteinte aux droits des créanciers ou des actionnaires. Si tel était le cas, une copie du jugement autorisant la correction ou une copie de la résolution des actionnaires devra être jointe à la demande de correction de statuts.

Service à la clientèle

Services Québec fournit une assistance à la clientèle du Registraire des entreprises, en personne à l’un de ses comptoirs de Montréal ou de Québec, ainsi que par courriel et par téléphone. Vous trouverez les coordonnées du service à la clientèle à la page Nous joindre

Le personnel du service à la clientèle peut vous aider, notamment, à mieux comprendre la procédure de correction de statuts ainsi que les règles d'application générale de la loi. Toutefois, il ne peut pas interpréter ces règles pour les adapter à un cas précis ou pour répondre à une situation particulière. Si vous avez besoin d’aide à ce sujet, nous vous invitons à consulter un conseiller juridique.

Dernière mise à jour : 
Haut de page Haut de page