Cancellation of Articles

Any business corporation may request the cancellation of articles (other than articles of constitution and articles of continuance) and of the related certificate when an application for articles has been filed inadvertently. The request must be made by the board of directors.

The business corporation that wishes to apply for the cancellation of articles must file the following documents:

  • form RE-508, Demande d'annulation de statuts (see English courtesy translation RE-508-T);
  • a copy of the articles to cancel.

If the cancellation of the articles could be prejudicial to the rights of the corporation’s shareholders or creditors, you must enclose other documents, depending on the situation:

  • Where the cancellation of the articles could be prejudicial to the rights of the corporation’s creditors, a court authorization is required.
  • Where the cancellation of the articles could be prejudicial to the rights of the shareholders, the cancellation may be authorized by a resolution adopted by all the shareholders whose rights could be prejudiced by the cancellation, including shareholders that hold non-voting shares. In this case, the special resolution of the shareholders must be enclosed with the application.
  • Where the cancellation of the articles could be prejudicial to the rights of the corporation’s shareholders and the shareholders have not authorized the cancellation, a judgment authorizing the cancellation must be enclosed with the application.

Fees and terms of payment

The fees applicable to a certificate of cancellation, further to an application to cancel articles, are given in chart RE-101, Tarifs et modalités de paiement (see English courtesy translation RE-101-T).

Processing your application

If the application is compliant and complete, and the fees have been paid, the Registraire des entreprises issues a certificate of cancellation and deposits in the enterprise register the application, the certificate of cancellation and, where applicable, the accompanying documents. A copy of the certificate of cancellation will be sent to the corporation or to its representative. The articles and the related certificate will be cancelled after the Registraire des entreprises has issued the certificate of cancellation and they are deemed to never have existed.

Client services

Client services of the Registraire des entreprises are provided by Services Québec at its offices in Montréal or Québec, as well as by email or telephone. Contact information is provided on the Contact Us page.

Client services staff can help you understand, in particular, the process to cancel the articles of your enterprise and the application of the rules of law in general. However, they cannot interpret these rules to adapt them to a specific case or respond to a specific situation. For such help, consult a legal adviser.

Last Update : 
Top of the page Top of the page

Annulation de statuts

Toute société par actions peut demander l’annulation de statuts, autres que des statuts de constitution et des statuts de continuation, de même que l’annulation du certificat qui s’y rapporte lorsqu’une demande de statuts a été transmise par erreur. La demande doit être faite par le conseil d’administration.

La société par actions qui désire demander une annulation de statuts doit produire les documents suivants :

  • le formulaire Demande d’annulation de statuts (RE-508);
  • une copie des statuts à annuler.

Si l’annulation des statuts risque de porter atteinte aux droits des créanciers ou des actionnaires, vous aurez à joindre d’autres documents selon la situation :

  • Lorsque l'annulation des statuts risque de porter atteinte aux droits des créanciers de la société, l'autorisation du tribunal est requise.
  • Lorsque l'annulation risque de porter atteinte aux droits des actionnaires, elle peut être autorisée par une résolution adoptée par tous les actionnaires dont les droits seraient atteints par l'annulation, y compris ceux détenant des actions ne comportant pas le droit de vote. Dans ce cas, la résolution spéciale des actionnaires doit être jointe à la demande.
  • Lorsque l'annulation risque de porter atteinte aux droits des actionnaires de la société et que ces derniers ne l'ont pas autorisée, un jugement autorisant l'annulation doit être joint à la demande.

Tarifs et modalités de paiement

Pour connaître les frais qui s’appliquent à la délivrance d'un certificat d’annulation de statuts dans le cadre d’une demande d’annulation de statuts, consultez la grille Tarifs et modalités de paiement (RE-101).

Traitement de votre demande

Si la demande est conforme et complète et que les frais exigibles ont été payés, le Registraire délivre un certificat d’annulation et dépose au registre des entreprises la demande, le certificat d’annulation ainsi que les documents qui y sont joints, le cas échéant. Une copie du certificat d’annulation sera transmise à la société ou à son représentant. Les statuts et le certificat qui s’y rapporte seront annulés après que le Registraire aura délivré le certificat d’annulation et ils seront réputés n’avoir jamais existé.

Service à la clientèle

Services Québec fournit une assistance à la clientèle du Registraire des entreprises, et ce, en personne à l’un de ses comptoirs de Montréal ou de Québec, ainsi que par courriel et par téléphone. Vous trouverez les coordonnées du service à la clientèle à la page Nous joindre.

Le personnel du service à la clientèle peut vous aider notamment à mieux comprendre la procédure d’annulation de statuts de votre entreprise ainsi que les règles d'application générale de la loi. Toutefois, il ne peut pas interpréter ces règles pour les adapter à un cas précis ou pour répondre à une situation particulière. Si vous avez besoin d’aide à ce sujet, nous vous invitons à consulter un conseiller juridique.

Dernière mise à jour : 
Haut de page Haut de page