Start an Enterprise > Revive a Québec Business Corporation

Revive a Québec Business Corporation

What is revival?

The term “revival” means the legal action of reforming or constituting anew a Québec business corporation that has been dissolved. Following its revival, a corporation keeps the same Québec enterprise number (NEQ) as before it was dissolved. The revived corporation is considered as never having been dissolved. The articles of the revived corporation are the same as those of the dissolved corporation.

The Registraire des entreprises or the court may revive an enterprise.

Revival by the Registraire des entreprises

The Registraire des entreprises may, at the request of any interested person and according to the conditions that the Registraire determines, revive a dissolved corporation.

The revival should, for example, be requested to cease an action or to finalize procedures that would have been overlooked at the time of dissolution. The revival must not be requested to launch a new enterprise. You must explain why you are requesting the revival of a business corporation.

The Registraire may revive a corporation dissolved under the Business Corporations Act. It may also revive a company that has been dissolved or liquidated voluntarily under the Companies Act or under the Mining Companies Act, or one that has been dissolved by the operation of the Business Corporations Act. Following its revival, a company is governed by the Business Corporations Act.

Revival by the Court

Any interested person may ask the court to order the revival of a corporation dissolved by a decision of the court.

How can a Québec business corporation be revived?

To request the revival of a business corporation, you must complete form RE-703, Demande de reconstitution (see English courtesy translation RE-703-T), and submit it to the Registraire des entreprises, along with payment of the fees payable under the Act respecting the legal publicity of enterprises (ALPE).

Fees and terms of payment

The fees payable for a certificate of revival (further to an application for revival) are given in chart RE-101, Tarifs et modalités de paiement (see English courtesy translation RE-101-T).

Processing your application

If your application is accepted, the Registraire will send you a certificate of revival and revive the corporation by depositing a copy of the certificate in the enterprise register.

The Registraire des entreprises will then notify the most recent directors and shareholders registered in the enterprise register at the address shown in the register that an application for revival of the corporation has been deposited in the register.

Legal obligations of the business corporation

Once revived, the business corporation will have to fulfill annual legal obligations. For more information, see Legal Obligations Stemming from Registration.

Client services

Client services of the Registraire des entreprises are provided by Services Québec at its offices in Montréal or Québec, as well as by email or telephone. Contact information is provided on the Contact Us page.

Client services staff can help you understand, in particular, the process for reviving a business corporation and the application of the rules of law in general. However, they cannot interpret the rules to adapt them to a specific case or respond to a specific situation. For such help, consult a legal adviser.

Last Update : 
Top of the page Top of the page

Démarrer votre entreprise > Reconstituer une société par actions québécoise

Reconstituer une société par actions québécoise

Qu’est-ce que la reconstitution?

On désigne par reconstitution l’action légale de reformer ou de constituer de nouveau une société par actions québécoise qui a été dissoute. À la suite de sa reconstitution, la société conserve le numéro d’entreprise du Québec (NEQ) qu’elle détenait lors de sa dissolution. La société reconstituée est considérée n’avoir jamais été dissoute. Les statuts de la société reconstituée sont les mêmes que ceux de la société dissoute.

Une société peut être reconstituée par le Registraire ou par le tribunal.

Reconstitution par le Registraire

Le Registraire des entreprises peut, à la demande de toute personne intéressée, et selon les conditions qu’il détermine, reconstituer une société dissoute.

La reconstitution devrait, par exemple, être demandée pour terminer un acte ou pour finaliser des procédures qui auraient été oubliées au moment de la dissolution. La reconstitution ne devrait pas être demandée pour commencer de nouvelles affaires. Dans la cadre de cette demande, vous devrez expliquer les motifs qui vous amènent à demander la reconstitution d’une société par actions.

Le Registraire peut reconstituer une société dissoute en vertu de la Loi sur les sociétés par actions. Il peut également reconstituer une compagnie qui a été dissoute ou liquidée volontairement en vertu de la Loi sur les compagnies ou de la Loi sur les compagnies minières ou dissoute par l’effet de la Loi sur les sociétés par actions. À la suite de la reconstitution, la compagnie sera régie par la Loi sur les sociétés par actions.

Reconstitution par le tribunal

Toute personne intéressée peut demander au tribunal d’ordonner la reconstitution d’une société dissoute par décision du tribunal.

Comment reconstituer une société par actions québécoise?

Pour demander la reconstitution d’une société par actions, vous devez remplir le formulaire Demande de reconstitution (RE-703) et le faire parvenir au Registraire des entreprises, accompagné du paiement des frais exigibles en vertu de la Loi sur la publicité légale des entreprises (LPLE).

Tarifs et modalités de paiement

Pour connaître les frais qui s’appliquent à un certificat de reconstitution dans le cadre d’une demande de reconstitution, consultez la grille Tarifs et modalités de paiement (RE-101).

Traitement de votre demande

Si votre demande est acceptée, un certificat de reconstitution vous est transmis et le Registraire procède à la reconstitution de la société en déposant une copie de ce certificat au registre des entreprises.

Le Registraire des entreprises avisera ensuite les derniers administrateurs et actionnaires inscrits au registre des entreprises, à l’adresse qui y figure, qu’une demande de reconstitution de la société a été déposée au registre.

Obligations légales de la société par actions

Une fois que la société sera reconstituée, elle aura des obligations légales à remplir annuellement. Pour plus d’information, consultez la page Les obligations légales découlant de l’immatriculation.

Service à la clientèle

Services Québec fournit une assistance à la clientèle du Registraire des entreprises, et ce, en personne à l’un de ses comptoirs de Montréal ou de Québec, ainsi que par courriel et par téléphone. Vous trouverez les coordonnées du service à la clientèle à la page Nous joindre.

Le personnel du service à la clientèle peut vous aider notamment à mieux comprendre la procédure de reconstitution d’une société par actions ainsi que les règles d'application générale de la loi. Toutefois, il ne peut pas interpréter ces règles pour les adapter à un cas précis ou pour répondre à une situation particulière. Si vous avez besoin d’aide à ce sujet, nous vous invitons à consulter un conseiller juridique.

Dernière mise à jour : 
Haut de page Haut de page