Register an Enterprise

In Québec, the majority of enterprises must, upon their creation, register with the Registraire des enterprises by filing a declaration of registration. The purpose of registration is to collect, in the enterprise register, information pertaining to enterprises and persons doing business in Québec. Such information is essential for individuals, business partners and government agencies that have dealings with these enterprises. At the time of registration, the Registraire des entreprises assigns a Québec enterprise number (NEQ) to the enterprise. The enterprise uses its NEQ to identify itself with the Registraire des entreprises, as well as other government agencies.

Who must file a declaration of registration?

Note
Legal persons constituted in Québec further to their articles being deposited in the enterprise register do not have to file a declaration of registration because they are automatically registered by the Registraire des entreprises at the time of their constitution.

However, any company that was governed by Part I of the Companies Act or constituted under the Mining Companies Act and that was dissolved either voluntarily or by operation of law, must complete form RE-703, Demande de reconstitution (see English courtesy translation RE-703-T).

The following persons must file a declaration of registration:

  • Natural persons who operate a sole proprietorship in Québec, under a name that does not include their first and last names
  • Natural persons who operate a tobacco retail outlet or a tanning salon, regardless of whether they operate the enterprise under a name that includes their first and last names
  • Legal persons not constituted in Québec if they maintain their domicile in Québec, carry on an activity in Québec (including the operation of an enterprise) or possess an immovable real right in Québec other than a priority or a hypothec
  • Legal persons constituted under a law other than a Québec law if they maintain their domicile in Québec, carry on an activity in Québec (including the operation of an enterprise) or possess an immovable real right in Québec other than a priority or a hypothec
  • Legal persons established for a private interest that are not constituted in Québec and that result from an amalgamation, other than a short-form amalgamation within the meaning of the Business Corporations Act
  • Legal persons constituted in Québec before 1994 that are not registered for the enterprise register 

Enterprises that have taken one of the following legal forms must also file a declaration of registration:

  • General and limited partnerships constituted in Québec
  • A partnership not constituted in Québec that carries on an activity in Québec (including the operation of an enterprise) or has an interest in real property other than a priority or a hypothec.
  • Partnerships not constituted in Québec that carry on an activity in Québec (including the operation of an enterprise) or that possess an immovable real right in Québec other than a priority or a hypothec
  • Syndicates of co-ownership
  • Trusts operating a commercial enterprise in Québec and that are not administered by a registered trustee
Important

If you wish to register an enterprise constituted under a law other than a law of Québec, you must make sure that the following conditions are met:

  • The enterprise's information has already been published in another jurisdiction's register.
  • The information in the declaration of registration, such as the name of the enterprise, its domicile address and date of constitution, must be the same as the information declared in the other jurisdiction.
  • The enterprise has not been dissolved.

The Registraire des entreprises reserves the right to refuse an enterprise's registration if any of these conditions are not met.

An Activity in Québec

An enterprise carries on an activity or operates an enterprise in Québec in one or more of the following situations:

  • It possesses an address in Québec.
  • It or its representative possesses an establishment or post office box in Québec.
  • It or its representative has a telephone line in Québec.
  • It or its representative carries on an activity in Québec for the purpose of profit.

Exceptions

Registering on a voluntary basis is possible for, among others, the following legal forms of enterprises:

  • a natural person who operates a sole proprietorship under a name including the person’s first and last names
  • legal persons established in the public interest, such as public bodies and municipalities
  • joint ventures (undeclared partnerships)
  • associations and other groups of persons

The advantage to registering voluntarily is that it makes public an enterprise's existence as well as certain information concerning it. Once registered, the enterprise has the same obligations as an enterprise that is required to register.

How to register an enterprise

Important

The Québec government has developed the integrated Démarrer une entreprise service (available in French only) to take you through the steps to carry out with various government departments and agencies in the process of starting a business and to track the status of your applications.

We recommend that you use this service if you are starting an enterprise and you have not undertaken any steps with any government department or agency. Enterprises that cannot use the service will still obtain the list of their obligations with various government departments and agencies based on their legal form. To access the service, click the Démarrer une entreprise button at the right side of this page.

To register an enterprise, the Registraire des entreprises offers the following online services:

Note
Our online services are not offered to every type of enterprise. Certain types of enterprises must therefore use the fillable (dynamic) PDF forms or the paper forms provided by our client services. Go to the Forms section or contact us to obtain copies of forms. Our contact information is provided on the Contact Us page.

Fees and terms of payment

The fees applicable to a declaration of registration, further to an application for registration, are given in form RE-101, Tarifs et modalités de paiement (see English courtesy translation RE-101-T).

Legal obligations of the enterprise

Once registered, an enterprise will have to fulfil annual legal obligations. For more information, click Legal Obligations Stemming from Registration.

Client Services

Client services of the Registraire des entreprises are provided by Entreprises Québec at its offices in Montréal or Québec, as well as by email or telephone. Contact information is provided on the Contact Us page.

Client Services staff can help you understand, in particular, the process for registering an enterprise and the application of the rules of law in general. However, they cannot interpret the rules to adapt them to a specific case or respond to a specific situation. For such help, consult a legal adviser.

Last Update : 
Top of the page Top of the page

Important

Avis d'inaccessibilité temporaire de nos services en ligne

Veuillez noter que nos services en ligne seront inaccessibles le dimanche 30 novembre 2014, de 2 h à 15 h, car nous procéderons à des travaux d'entretien.

Le Registraire des entreprises vous remercie de votre compréhension.

Immatriculer une entreprise

Au Québec, la majorité des entreprises doivent, dès leur création, s’immatriculer auprès du Registraire des entreprises en produisant une déclaration d’immatriculation. L’immatriculation vise à regrouper, dans le registre des entreprises, les informations relatives aux entreprises et aux personnes faisant des affaires au Québec. Ces informations sont essentielles aux citoyens, aux partenaires d'affaires et aux organismes gouvernementaux ayant à transiger avec elles. Lors de l’immatriculation, le Registraire attribue un numéro d’entreprise du Québec (NEQ) à l’entreprise. L’entreprise se sert notamment de son NEQ pour s’identifier autant auprès du Registraire qu’auprès d’autres organismes gouvernementaux.

Qui doit produire une déclaration d’immatriculation?

  • La personne physique qui exploite une entreprise individuelle au Québec, sous un nom ne comprenant pas son nom de famille et son prénom.
  • La personne physique qui exploite un point de vente de tabac au détail ou un salon de bronzage, peu importe si elle exploite son entreprise sous son nom de famille et son prénom.
  • La société en nom collectif et la société en commandite constituées au Québec.
  • La société de personnes non constituée au Québec qui exerce une activité au Québec, y compris l’exploitation d’une entreprise, ou qui y possède un droit réel immobilier autre qu’une priorité ou une hypothèque.
  • La personne morale non constituée au Québec si elle a son domicile au Québec, y exerce une activité, y compris l'exploitation d'une entreprise, ou y possède un droit réel immobilier autre qu'une priorité ou une hypothèque.
  • Toute personne morale continuée en vertu d’une loi autre qu’une loi québécoise si elle a son domicile au Québec, y exerce une activité, y compris l'exploitation d'une entreprise, ou y possède un droit réel immobilier autre qu'une priorité ou une hypothèque.
  • Toute personne morale de droit privé non constituée au Québec qui est issue d’une fusion, autre qu’une fusion simplifiée au sens de la Loi sur les sociétés par actions.
  • La personne morale constituée au Québec avant 1994 qui n’est pas immatriculée au registre des entreprises.
  • Le syndicat des copropriétaires.
  • La Fiducie exploitant une entreprise à caractère commercial au Québec qui n’est pas administrée par un fiduciaire immatriculé.
Note
Les personnes morales constituées au Québec à la suite du dépôt de leurs statuts au registre n’ont pas à produire de déclaration d’immatriculation, car elles sont automatiquement immatriculées par le Registraire lors de leur constitution.

Notion d'activité au Québec

Une entreprise exerce une activité ou exploite une entreprise au Québec dans l’une ou plusieurs des situations suivantes :

  • elle possède une adresse au Québec ou encore, elle ou son représentant possède un établissement ou une case postale au Québec;
  • elle dispose d'une ligne téléphonique au Québec;
  • elle accomplit un acte au Québec dans le but d'en tirer profit.

Cas d’exception

Les formes juridiques d’entreprises suivantes peuvent s’immatriculer sur une base volontaire :

  • la personne physique qui exploite une entreprise individuelle sous un nom comprenant son nom de famille et son prénom;
  • les personnes morales de droit public, tels les organismes publics et les municipalités;
  • les sociétés en participation;
  • les associations et autres groupements de personnes.

L’avantage de l’immatriculation sur une base volontaire est qu’elle permet de rendre publique l’existence de l’entreprise ainsi que certaines informations la concernant. Une fois immatriculée, l’entreprise aura les mêmes obligations que les entreprises tenues de s’immatriculer.

Comment immatriculer une entreprise?

Pour immatriculer une entreprise, le Registraire met à votre disposition les services en ligne suivants :

Note
Certains types d’entreprises doivent utiliser les formulaires remplissables à l’écran (dynamiques) ou les formulaires papier fournis par notre service à la clientèle, car les services en ligne ne leur sont pas offerts. Consultez la Liste des formulaires ou communiquez avec nous pour demander l’obtention de formulaires. Vous trouverez nos coordonnées dans la page Nous joindre.

Tarifs et modalités de paiement

Pour connaître les frais qui s’appliquent à une déclaration d’immatriculation dans le cadre d’une demande d’immatriculation, consultez la Liste des tarifs et des modalités de paiement (RE-101).

Obligations légales de l’entreprise

Une fois immatriculée, l’entreprise aura des obligations légales à remplir annuellement. Pour plus d’information, consultez la page Les obligations légales découlant de l’immatriculation.

Service à la clientèle

Services Québec fournit une assistance à la clientèle du Registraire des entreprises, en personne à l’un de ses comptoirs de Montréal ou de Québec, ainsi que par courriel et par téléphone. Vous trouverez les coordonnées du service à la clientèle à la page Nous joindre.

Le personnel du service à la clientèle peut vous aider notamment à mieux comprendre la procédure pour immatriculer une entreprise ainsi que les règles d'application générale de la loi. Toutefois, il ne peut pas interpréter ces règles pour les adapter à un cas précis ou pour répondre à une situation particulière. Si vous avez besoin d’aide à ce sujet, nous vous invitons à consulter un conseiller juridique.

Dernière mise à jour : 2014-06-19
Haut de page Haut de page