Important

Interruption of our online services

Please note that our online services will be unavailable from 5:30 a.m. to 1 p.m. on Sunday, October 2, 2016, as we will be performing maintenance work on them.

The Registraire des entreprises thanks you for understanding.

Legal Forms of Enterprises

In Québec, enterprises can carry on a business in a number of legal forms. Summary descriptions of the principal legal forms are presented below.

Sole proprietorship

A sole proprietorship is an enterprise that is owned and operated by one person only. This person is often called a "self-employed person."

Such an enterprise has no legal existence, juridical personality or patrimony separate from that of its owner.

To summarize, a natural person who operates a sole proprietorship is often said to “work for him or herself.” Moreover, since the person is the sole proprietor of the enterprise, all profits made and, where applicable, all losses incurred are that person's alone.

Business corporation (corporation)

A business corporation (also called a "corporation" or "legal person") is a separate legal entity, and, accordingly, has its own specific rights and obligations. In Québec, business corporations are constituted, in particular, under the Business Corporations Act.

A business corporation operates an enterprise for the purpose of generating profit that will be distributed, as applicable, among its shareholders.

A business corporation:

  • has an existence separate from that of its shareholders;
  • owns property in its own name;
  • acquires rights and assumes obligations and liabilities;
  • signs contracts through its directors;
  • may sue or be sued in the same way as a natural person.

General partnership (S.E.N.C.)

A general partnership is a group of persons, called "partners," who, in a spirit of cooperation, agree to carry on a common activity. The partners of a general partnership operate an enterprise, contribute to it by sharing property, knowledge or activities and share any resulting pecuniary profits or losses.

Such a partnership is created through a partnership agreement and must be designated by a single name for all the partners, who are solidarily liable for the enterprise’s obligations and certain of its debts, independently of the respective shares of each partner in the partnership.

A general partnership may consist, for example, of professional offices (lawyers, notaries, dentists, etc.).

A general partnership has a head office (principal establishment) and its own name. It may sue and be sued in a civil action.

Limited partnership (S.E.C.)

A limited partnership is a partnership consisting of one or more general partners and one or more limited partners. It is created through a partnership agreement and must be designated by a single name for all the partners.

General partners contribute, above all, their work, experience and expertise. They are the sole persons authorized to administer and represent the partnership. They are solidarily liable for the partnership’s debts.

Limited partners must furnish a contribution to the common stock of the partnership. They supply money or property to the partnership and their liability with regard to the debts of the partnership is up to the amount of their contribution to the latter.

A limited partnership has a head office (principal establishment) and its own name. It may sue and be sued in a civil action.

Joint venture (or undeclared partnership)

A joint venture is a partnership that is not a legal person and does not have a juridical personality, and whose partners act in their own name on behalf of all partners. All Québec general and limited partnerships that are not registered are considered joint ventures.

The contract by which a joint venture is established may be written or verbal or may arise from facts indicating the intention to form a joint venture.

Non-profit legal person

A non-profit legal person is a group of individuals who engages in non-profit activities that are cultural, social, philanthropic, national, patriotic, religious, charitable, scientific, artistic, professional, athletic, sporting, educational or other in nature, with no intention of generating profits for its members.

A non-profit legal person:

  • has an existence separate from that of its members;
  • has its own name, domicile and property;
  • acquires rights and assumes obligations and liabilities;
  • signs contracts through its directors;
  • may sue or be sued in the same way as a natural person;
  • does not have any share capital and its members are not liable in its regard.

Syndicate of co-ownership

A syndicate of co-ownership is a legal person governed by the Civil Code of Québec and made up of all the co-owners of a divided co-ownership. It is constituted by publication of a declaration of co-ownership in the land register Its purpose is to preserve the immovable, to maintain and manage the common portions, to protect the rights appurtenant to the immovable or to the co-ownership and to take all measures of common interest.

Association or group of persons

An association is a group of persons brought together with a common interest, other than that of making profits to be shared among its members, whose activities promote the study, defense and development of the economic, social or moral interests of its members.

A group of persons designates any aggregation, other than an association, which joins two or more persons who share a common interest (pecuniary or not). It can be a nominal partnership, a cost-sharing partnership, an economic interest group or other.

Cooperative

A cooperative is a legal person consisting of persons having common economic, social and cultural needs who unite to operate a business according to the rules of cooperative action in order to meet those needs.

It is a legal person separate from its members, whose liability is limited to the value of the shares that they hold.

Trust that operates a commercial enterprise

A trust that operates a commercial enterprise does so in order to turn a profit. Examples of such trusts include business trusts, investment trusts and real estate investment trusts.

The trustee administers the property of the trust in accordance with terms of the constituting instrument. This means that the trustee of a trust has essentially the same mission as the administrator of a business corporation.

The trust is established in favour of the beneficiary, who benefits from the profits generated by the trust in accordance with the terms of the constituting instrument.

For more information, click Trust that Operates a Commercial Operation.

Last Update : 
Top of the page Top of the page

Les différentes formes juridiques d’entreprises

Au Québec, les entreprises peuvent faire des affaires sous plusieurs formes juridiques. Vous trouverez ci-dessous une description sommaire des principales formes juridiques d’entreprises.

Entreprise individuelle

Il s’agit d’une entreprise à propriétaire unique, qui est exploitée par une seule personne que l’on appelle souvent travailleur autonome ou travailleur indépendant.

Une telle entreprise n’a pas d’existence juridique distincte de son propriétaire et n’a ni personnalité juridique ni patrimoine distincts.

Bref, lorsqu’une personne physique exploite une entreprise individuelle, on dit souvent qu’elle « travaille à son compte ». De plus, comme cette personne est la seule propriétaire de l’entreprise, c’est elle qui en retire tous les profits et qui en subit toutes les pertes, s’il y a lieu.

Société par actions (compagnie)

Une société par actions (aussi appelée compagnie ou personne morale) est une entité juridique distincte. À ce titre, elle détient des droits et des obligations qui lui sont propres. Au Québec, les sociétés par actions sont constituées notamment en vertu de la Loi sur les sociétés par actions.

Une société par actions a pour but d'exploiter une entreprise afin de réaliser des bénéfices qui seront répartis, s'il y a lieu, entre ses actionnaires.

Caractéristiques d’une société par actions :

  • elle a une existence distincte de celle de ses actionnaires;
  • elle possède des biens en son nom propre;
  • elle a des droits et assume des obligations et des responsabilités;
  • elle signe des contrats par l’entremise de ses administrateurs;
  • elle peut intenter des poursuites ou être poursuivie au même titre qu'une personne physique.

Société en nom collectif (S.E.N.C.)

Une société en nom collectif est un groupement de personnes, appelées associés, qui conviennent, dans un esprit de collaboration, d'exercer une activité commune. Les associés d’une société en nom collectif ont pour but d'exploiter une entreprise, d'y contribuer par la mise en commun de biens, de connaissances ou d'activités et de partager entre eux les bénéfices pécuniaires et les pertes qui en résultent.

Une telle société est créée au moyen d’un contrat de société et doit être désignée sous un nom commun aux associés. Ceux-ci sont solidairement responsables de certaines dettes et obligations de l'entreprise, indépendamment de la part respective de chacun dans la société.

Il peut s'agir, par exemple, de bureaux de professionnels (avocats, notaires, dentistes, etc.).

La société en nom collectif a un siège (établissement principal), un nom qui lui est propre et elle peut agir en justice, c’est-à-dire qu’elle peut poursuivre quelqu’un et être poursuivie.

Société en commandite (S.E.C.)

Une société en commandite est constituée d’un ou de plusieurs commandités et d’un ou de plusieurs commanditaires qui sont tenus de fournir un apport au fonds commun de la société. Elle est créée au moyen d’un contrat de société et doit être désignée sous un nom commun aux associés.

Les commandités fournissent surtout leur travail, leur expérience et leur compétence. Ce sont les seules personnes autorisées à administrer et à représenter la société. Ils ont une responsabilité solidaire à l'égard des dettes de la société.

L'apport de capital dans la société en commandite revient aux commanditaires. Les commanditaires fournissent argent ou biens à la société et leur responsabilité à l’égard des dettes de la société se limite à leurs apports dans cette dernière.

La société en commandite a un siège (établissement principal) un nom qui lui est propre et elle peut agir en justice, c’est-à-dire qu’elle peut poursuivre quelqu’un et être poursuivie.

Société en participation

Il s’agit d’une société qui n’est pas une personne morale et qui n’a pas de personnalité juridique, et dont les associés agissent en leur nom propre pour le compte de tous. Toute société québécoise en commandite ou en nom collectif qui n’est pas immatriculée est considérée comme une société en participation.

Le contrat constitutif de la société en participation peut être écrit ou verbal ou peut résulter de faits qui indiquent l'intention de s'associer.

Personne morale sans but lucratif

Une personne morale sans but lucratif est un groupement de personnes qui exerce des activités sans but lucratif dans les domaines culturel, social, philanthropique, national, patriotique, religieux, charitable, scientifique, artistique, professionnel, athlétique, sportif, éducatif ou autres.

Caractéristiques d’une personne morale sans but lucratif :

  • elle a une existence distincte de celle de ses membres;
  • elle a son propre nom, un domicile et des biens;
  • elle a des droits et assume des obligations et des responsabilités;
  • elle signe des contrats par l’entremise de ses administrateurs;
  • elle peut intenter des poursuites ou être poursuivie au même titre qu'une personne physique;
  • elle n'a pas de capital-actions et ses membres n'encourent aucune responsabilité à l’égard de celle-ci.

Syndicat de copropriété

Un syndicat de copropriété est une personne morale régie par le Code civil du Québec et formée de l'ensemble des copropriétaires d'une copropriété divise. Il est constitué par la publication de la déclaration de copropriété au Registre foncier. Il a pour objet la conservation de l'immeuble, l'entretien et l'administration des parties communes, la sauvegarde des droits afférents à l'immeuble ou à la copropriété ainsi que toutes les opérations d'intérêt commun.

Association ou groupement de personnes

Une association est un groupe de personnes réunies dans un intérêt commun, autre que la réalisation de profits à partager entre les membres, dont les activités visent à promouvoir l'étude, la défense et le développement des intérêts économiques, sociaux ou moraux de ses membres.

Un groupement de personnes désigne tout rassemblement, autre qu'une association, de deux personnes ou plus qui partagent un intérêt commun (pécuniaire ou non). Il peut s'agir d'une société nominale, d'une société de dépenses, d'un groupement d'intérêt économique ou autre.

Coopérative

Une coopérative est une personne morale regroupant des personnes qui ont des besoins économiques, sociaux ou culturels communs et qui, en vue d'y répondre, s'associent pour exploiter une entreprise conformément aux règles d'action coopérative.

Il s’agit d’une personne morale distincte de ses membres. La responsabilité de ceux-ci est limitée à la valeur des parts qu'ils ont souscrites.

Fiducie exploitant une entreprise à caractère commercial

Une fiducie exploitant une entreprise à caractère commercial est une fiducie qui exerce une activité économique organisée dans le but de permettre la réalisation de profits. Sont notamment considérées comme des fiducies exploitant une entreprise à caractère commercial les fiducies-entreprises, les fiducies d’investissement et les fiducies d’opérations immobilières.

Le fiduciaire administre les biens de la fiducie selon les modalités prévues dans l’acte constitutif. Le fiduciaire a donc, dans la fiducie, essentiellement la même mission que l’administrateur d’une société par actions.

La fiducie est établie en faveur du bénéficiaire, qui profite des bénéfices générés par la fiducie selon les modalités de l’acte constitutif.

Pour plus de renseignements, nous vous invitons à consulter la page Fiducie exploitant une entreprise à caractère commercial.

Dernière mise à jour : 
Haut de page Haut de page