About the Registraire des entreprises > Enterprise Registrar: a Public Officer
Important

Interruption of our online services

Our online services will be unavailable from 6 a.m. to 5 p.m. on Sunday, December 5, 2021, as we will be performing maintenance work on them.

The Registraire des entreprises thanks you for understanding.

Enterprise Registrar: a Public Officer

The Enterprise Registrar is an employee appointed by the Minister of Labour, Employment and Social solidarity to perform the duties stipulated by the Act respecting the legal publicity of enterprises and by any other laws that refer to the Registraire des entreprises. 

On June 4, 2018, Yves Pépin was appointed by the Minister of Employment and Social solidarity to the office of Enterprise Registrar within the Ministère du Travail, de l'Emploi et de la Solidarité sociale (Government Registers sector). The Enterprise Registrar is the head of the Registraire des entreprises.

You can submit any questions concerning the duties and responsibilities of the Enterprise Registrar by email to registre@servicesquebec.gouv.qc.ca, or by mail to:

Mr. Yves Pepin
Registraire des entreprises
Services Québec
C.P. 25300, succ. Terminus
Québec (Québec)  G1A 0A4

What is a public officer?

In a government context, a public officer is someone to whom the State has granted the power to draw up or keep acts recognized as authentic or to attest to the authenticity of a copy of an act.

A document or information whose authority or provenance cannot be called into question is said to be "authentic".

Is being a public officer an honorary title?

No. Although public officers are administrators and they assume the administrative duties entrusted to them, a public officer also assumes juridical or legal responsibilities related to the public office entrusted to them by the State when they were appointed to that position.

Public officers are appointed by a minister, and their mandate is governed by legislation. In addition, they must keep a public register in which information provided for by legislation is filed and disseminated.

Public officers must not be confused with court clerks, notaries, bailiffs or surveyors, who are also public officers, but do not assume public office.

How many public officers are there in Québec?

There are four public officers in Québec:

  • the registrar of civil status;
  • the Enterprise Registrar;
  • the Land Registrar: 
  • the Personal and Movable Real Rights Registrar.

Do public officers have special powers?

Acts drawn up, or copies of acts authenticated, by public officers enable persons and businesses to exercise their rights. For example, by means of the child's act of birth, a parent is able to register for the Québec Parental Insurance Plan (QPIP), and obtain the Family Allowance (Retraite Québec) as well as the Canada Child Benefit (Canada Revenue Agency).

It is an important power, which grants public officers great responsibility as regards the quality, integrity, security and sustainability of the register they administer.

That is why the legislation governing the role of public officers contains special provisions.

What special provisions apply to the Enterprise registrar?

The Act respecting the legal publicity of enterprises (ALPE) contains certain provisions specific to the Enterprise Registrar. For example:

  • If the registrar is absent or unable to act, the Minister may designate a department employee to act in the registrar’s place. The registrar may, by notice and with the concurrence of the Minister, delegate some or all of the registrar’s powers to a department employee. The notice is published in the Gazette officielle du Québec.
  • Except for a few cases provided for in the ALPE, any interested person may contest before the Administrative Tribunal of Québec a decision made by the registrar, or a refusal to register a registrant or to deposit a declaration or document in the register, on the ground that the name declared is contrary to certain provisions (based on the conditions specified in the Act). 
  • In certain cases provided for by the ALPE, a request for administrative remedies can be filed with the Enterprise Registrar, such as requesting that the registrar order an enterprise to change or no longer use a name, or requesting that the registrar correct or delete inaccurate information from the register.
  • No deed, document or writing is binding on or attributable to the registrar unless it is signed by the registrar or by a department employee authorized by the registrar.
Last Update : 
Top of the page Top of the page

À propos du Registraire des entreprises > Le registraire des entreprises : un officier public

Le registraire des entreprises : un officier public

Le registraire des entreprises est un employé désigné par le ministre du Travail, de l'Emploi et de la Solidarité sociale afin d'exercer les fonctions prévues par la Loi sur la publicité légale des entreprises ou par toute autre loi faisant référence au Registraire des entreprises.

Le 4 juin 2018, M. Yves Pepin a été nommé par le ministre de l'Emploi et de la Solidarité sociale afin d'occuper le poste de registraire des entreprises au sein du ministère du Travail, de l'Emploi et de la Solidarité sociale (secteur Registres de l’État). L’organisation qu’il dirige est le Registraire des entreprises.

Pour toute question relative aux fonctions et aux responsabilités assumées par le registraire, vous pouvez soumettre votre demande par courriel, à l’adresse registre@servicesquebec.gouv.qc.ca, ou par la poste, à l'adresse suivante :

Monsieur Yves Pepin
Registraire des entreprises
Services Québec
C. P. 25300, succ. Terminus
Québec (Québec)  G1A 0A4

Qu’est-ce qu’un officier public?

Dans le contexte gouvernemental, un officier public est une personne à qui l’État a donné le pouvoir de dresser ou de conserver des actes qui sont reçus comme authentiques, ou de donner à la copie d’un acte une valeur authentique.

Par valeur authentique, on entend un document ou une information dont l’autorité ou la source ne peut pas être mise en doute.

Être officier public, est-ce un titre honorifique?

Non. Bien qu’il soit un gestionnaire et qu’il assume les fonctions administratives qui lui sont confiées, un officier public assume aussi des responsabilités juridiques ou légales liées à la charge publique que l’État lui a confiée en le nommant à ce titre.

Les officiers publics sont nommés par un ministre, et leur mandat est régi par une loi. De plus, ils sont responsables de tenir un registre à caractère public dans lequel sont déposées et diffusées des informations prévues par la loi.

Il ne faut pas les confondre avec les greffiers, les notaires, les huissiers ni avec les arpenteurs-géomètres : ces derniers sont aussi des officiers publics, mais ils n’assument pas de charge publique.

Combien existe-t-il d’officiers publics au Québec?

Il existe quatre officiers publics au Québec :

  • le directeur de l’état civil;
  • le registraire des entreprises;
  • l’Officier de la publicité foncière;
  • l’Officier de la publicité des droits personnels et réels mobiliers.

Les officiers publics ont-ils des pouvoirs particuliers?

Les actes dressés et les copies d’actes authentifiés par les officiers publics permettent aux citoyens et aux entreprises de se prévaloir de droits. Par exemple, grâce à l’acte de naissance de son enfant, un citoyen pourra s’inscrire au Régime québécois d’assurance parentale et obtenir l'allocation famille (Retraite Québec) ainsi que l'allocation canadienne pour enfants (Agence du revenu du Canada).

Il s’agit d’un pouvoir important qui confère aux officiers publics une grande responsabilité au regard de la qualité, de l’intégrité, de la sécurité et de la pérennité du registre qu’ils administrent.

C’est pourquoi les lois qui régissent le rôle des officiers publics prévoient des dispositions particulières.

Quelles sont les dispositions particulières applicables au registraire des entreprises?

La Loi sur la publicité légale des entreprises (LPLE) prévoit certaines dispositions applicables au registraire des entreprises. En voici des exemples :

  • En cas d’absence ou d’empêchement du registraire, le ministre peut désigner un employé du ministère pour agir à sa place. Le registraire peut aussi, par avis et avec l’accord du ministre, déléguer la totalité ou une partie de ses pouvoirs à un employé du ministère. L’avis est alors publié dans la Gazette officielle du Québec.
  • Hormis quelques cas prévus par la LPLE, toute personne intéressée peut contester devant le Tribunal administratif du Québec une décision du registraire, ou encore un refus d’immatriculer un assujetti ou de déposer au registre une déclaration ou un document, au motif que le nom déclaré n’est pas conforme à certaines dispositions (selon les conditions spécifiées dans la loi). 
  • Il est également possible de déposer une demande de recours administratif auprès du registraire des entreprises dans certains cas prévus par la LPLE, notamment pour demander au registraire d’ordonner à une entreprise de changer ou de cesser d’utiliser un nom, ou encore pour demander de rectifier ou de supprimer une information inexacte figurant dans le registre.
  • Aucun acte, aucun document ni aucun écrit n’engage le registraire et ne peut lui être attribué s’il n’est pas signé par lui ou par un employé du ministère qu’il autorise à cette fin.
Dernière mise à jour : 
Haut de page Haut de page